Reading With My Boys

Using Books to Raise My Boys

“I’ve Decided to Start Reading to the Little Monsters, Now What Do I Read?”

on February 11, 2013

OK so my version of died and gone to heaven is people asking me what to read!  In this post I get to pretend that a mom has come to me all excited about reading to her boys and asks, “I’ve decided to start reading to the little monsters, now what do I read?”  To tell the truth EVERY book that is on this list came from my more than willing to share boys on the “boy stamp of approval books.”  Also, I made sure that all of my boys agreed and a few are being left off just because not everyone loved them all.  And the winners are…

#1 Winnie-the-Pooh by AA Milne-Yes, I’m serious.  From my 14 year old to my 5 year old there isn’t a one of them that won’t listen to this to infinity.  They loved it so much that they all took on character names from the book and renamed a favorite park the hundred-acre wood.  I struggle to get through it because it just cracks me up and I chose it when I need a good laugh…

#2 Little Britches by Ralph Moody-The true story of a boy becoming a man on the farm is just the kind of teacher I want for my kids.  In one part the author, quoting his father writes, “…A man’s character is like his house.  If he tears boards off his house and burns them up to keep himself warm and comfortable, his house soon become ruin.  It he tells lies to be able to do the things he shouldn’t but wants to, his character will some become a ruin.  A man with a ruined character is a shame on the face of the earth.”  Ahhh….what a lesson!  This is the first book we read at night that dad was the reader for.  We finished it late an night with everyone tucked under and dad’s voice cracked as we all cried and lived one of life’s hard things through Ralph, who had now become a part of our family.

#3  Summer of the Monkeys by Wilson Rawls-A summer read that had my kids asking to go to bed early so we could read longer.  This one stayed in their heart for years and everyone one of them mentioned it with great fervor to suggest to you all.

#4  Trumpet of The Swan by E.B White-We read this book in the summer during the afternoon heat, while the boys had a snack or built with legos.  They loved the way this book moseyed along and found Lois to be a great friend.

#5  Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick-This was another afternoon read.  This one has to have the kids piled on top of you since 90% of it is illustration.  This is the most unique kind of story and you have to read a Selznick just to experience something truly unique.

#6  Mrs, Piggle-Wiggle by Betty McDonald-Man do I wish I had a Mrs. Piggle Wiggle to send my kids to when they were naughty, she’d fix them right up.  My kids love this silly tale and even noticed the not so good traits of the kids she needed to work her magic on!

#7  George’s Marvelous Medicine by Roal Dahl-Can you go wrong with the imagination of Mr. Dahl , my kids love every single silly word he writes.  We managed to score a great deal on his Phiz Whizzing Collection at Costco and have had lots of use out of it.

#8 The Great Turkey Walk by Kathleen Karr-Meet a sweet, clever boy determined to improve his standing in life by walking a large group of turkeys hundreds of miles across the USA.

#9 A Wrinkle In Time by Madline L’Engle- I have purposefully left off a big stack of fantasy must reads because I am dedicating a whole post to that.  I couldn’t leave this one off though!  How I long to live in that house with the Murray’s, sitting with Mrs. Murray listening to my varied thoughts while she heats me up hot cocoa on her bunson burner in her science lab….ah, a must!

#10  and the winner is….Isle Of Swords by Wayne Thomas Batson-Every one of my kids mentioned this as THE favorite.  I won’t say much but to say it’s about pirates…I have 6 sons, you see why this is a winner!  Just so you know, mom’s, I liked it too, and they manage to work in Christianity and character.

Happy reading my friends!

DSC_0028

One response to ““I’ve Decided to Start Reading to the Little Monsters, Now What Do I Read?”

  1. Laura says:

    Great list. We loved summer of the monkeys and mrs. Piggle wiggle. Currently I am reading secret garden to my 10 yr old brynn and we are loving that. We will have to try your #10 !

Leave a Reply

