Reading With My Boys

Using Books to Raise My Boys

Of Lions, Dragons and Turkish Delight

on January 31, 2013

This title comes from a talk given by S. Michael Wilcox on the power of reading from CS Lewis, specifically the Narnia books.  There aren’t words enough to express my feelings about the works of CS Lewis.  I recently read, Surprised by Joy and found myself reading words that I felt in my heart, but never had the ability to express.   If I had to toss aside every book I have ever read to my children (with the exception of the scriptures of course) and just read the seven books of The Chronicles of Narnia over and over, I would feel good about the lessons, the literature and the growth that would come from reading these amazing books.  My smaller boys will be completely engrossed in the story aspect of it and when I read a part that because of the symbolism my voice catches and fills with emotion, I can tell by other tear filled eyes who has graduated into that next level of understanding, it’s not just a story anymore.  These stories are filled with everything that I want my children to truly know:  forgiveness, mercy, agency, understanding of our Savior and how He works, personal growth…etc…When I read of a little mouse called Repicheep and watch him sacrifice everything he has for the king he loves, I have a hero worth emulating that I can NEVER forget.  Quoting that brave little mouse,  “While I can, I sail east in the Dawn Treader. When she fails me, I paddle east in my coracle. When she sinks, I shall swim east with my four paws. And when I can swim no longer, if I have not reached Aslan’s country, or shot over the edge of the world in some vast cataract, I shall sink with my nose to the sunrise and Peepiceek will be head of the talking mice in Narnia.”  May my children and I have such similar faith and devotion to our Savior and thank God he has inspired writers like Mr.  Lewis to bring us closer to him.DSC_0003

One response to “Of Lions, Dragons and Turkish Delight

  1. Chipmunk says:

    I love C.S. Lewis! 😀 His way with words is absolutely beautiful, and the way he ties logic to faith is mind-blowing. I love all the symbolism in his books. I read the first part of Mere Christianity as well, and it was amazing.
    Your blog is way cool! Keep up the awesomeness. 😀
    -Chipmunk

Leave a Reply

