Reading With My Boys

Using Books to Raise My Boys

By Request: For the Little Ladies

on January 29, 2013

I love it, my first request!  OK technically people ask me all the time about what to read, but then I start suggesting and they get this glazed over look like “OK I have no intention of reading all that” and give up on me.  How lovely that in the blogger world I can ramble on as much as I want!  The request today comes from my darling best friend on books I would suggest for her daughter (levels 4th grade through 6th) specifically in the areas poetry, biography or Newberry winners. Before I begin let me reassure you that I am not an expert on books that girls would love but I am a girl so I read the girl books too!

For Poetry I would suggest :

100 Great Poems for Girls (I haven’t read this one…but have the compilation for boys and think it is an absolute treasure).  Just a note on Poetry…to really fall in love with it, it must be read out loud!  I like to throw in a poem or two at bed time.

For Biography I suggest:

Anything Childhood of Famous Americans.  I especially enjoyed Pocahontas

For Newberry Winners I suggest:

The Hundred Dresses by Eleanor Estes

Sarah Plain and Tall  by Patricia MacLachlan

From the Mixed Up Files Of Mrs.  Basil E Frankweiler  by EL Konigsburg -She also wrote A View from Saturday which I loved

Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

And my Just because I can’t help it suggestions:

Animal story:  A Dog’s Way Home by Bobbie Pyron (usually I’m not an animal story lover, but this is a gem!)

A Bit Of Magic:  The Familiars by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson

Strong Female Characters I love:  Igraine the Brave by Corneila Funke

The Girl Who Could Fly by Victoria Forester

Life Lessons brilliantly presented ( I LOVE this book):  True…Sort Of by Katherine Hannigan  (note to mom’s this book deals with hard issues like child abuse and will warrant discussion, but teaches compassion and love in a brilliant manner)

The Princess Story:  Princess Academy by Shannon Hale (This is my sister in laws favorite book so I picked it up, expecting frills and high heels.  What a delightful surprise to instead meet a strong female with great heart).

The Classics Musts:  OK, I am totally fine with not having a daughter, but the thing I would most want a daughter for is so I could read, Anne of Green gables, Heidi and A Little Princess while we snuggled under her pink bed spread together

Not because I want to but because I have things to do, I end here!  Happy reading!Image

2 responses to “By Request: For the Little Ladies

  1. wes68 says:

    These are such great books, I love them, and your blog. 🙂

  2. Erin Young says:

    Wonderful, I’m taking a list with me to the library tomorrow. Have you read the “Who Is…” Series of biographies? Just curious, found a lot of them. Thank you for all your help! E

Leave a Reply

