Reading With My Boys

Using Books to Raise My Boys

By Way Of Introduction

on January 23, 2013

I am the mother of 6 sons ages 14, 11, 9, 8, 5, and 2.  I am happy in my role as a mother of sons.  I always tell people, “I’m good with mud and blood, but would have no idea what to do with hair or emotions.”  With that said there are at least 15 times in a day that I feel inadequate and feel quite certain that I have no idea what I’m doing and that these people would be better off being raised in a zoo by a gorilla mother than the one they have (let’s face it my boys would so vote for that if it were an option!)

About 10 years ago I stumbled upon what would become the secret of my parenting (though anyone who knows me knows its no secret because I can’t shut up about it), the secret….books!  That’s right books with a little help from me and my fantastic husband are raising my kids.

There is nothing I like better than talking about, looking at, or reading books.  This has become the universal language that I share with my kids.  This is great since I don’t speak belch, teen grunt or toddler tantrum (OK sometimes I do speak tantrum) and the really cool thing is that all of my children speak this language as well!

Please note my children are NORMAL boys.  They are bouncing off the ceiling, loud, and display poor manners, unless forced to do otherwise.  They love sports, guns, bugs and mud.  With all of that there are times during the day when just like the horse whisperer I quietly offer a book feast and I always have six eager takers.

This phenomenal feat didn’t happen overnight and I’m not suggesting that I needed something to do with my free time (let’s face it I haven’t had free time in 14 years).  I have steadily chipped away at this until I can introduce you to 6 active boys who would literally go postal on you if you took away their books. 

In this blog I will introduce you to my life, my boys and how and why I’m using books to raise those boys…Image

2 responses to “By Way Of Introduction

  1. Erin Young says:

    Hooray! What a beautiful blog! I love it, so pretty and happy. Can’t wait to have it for a resource at my fingertips on your book recommendations and thoughts. Glad you have this new adventure right now.

  2. Laura says:

    Love it! Great to have an inspiring friend like you.

Leave a Reply

